Adrian PartingtonAdrian Partington
Director of Music

One of the UK’s most renowned choral conductors, Adrian directs the Cathedral Choir in the daily round of services and is Artistic Director of the Gloucester Three Choirs Festival. He is also conductor of the Gloucester Choral Society, Director of the Choral Conducting Course at the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama, and Artistic Director of the BBC National Chorus of Wales.



Jonathan Hope
Assistant Director of Music

One of the most talented organists of his generation, Jonathan is the principal organist for the Cathedral services, deputy conductor of the Cathedral Choir and Director of the Cathedral Youth Choir. He is also Accompanist to the Gloucester Choral Society, Musical Director of the Saint Cecilia Singers, Area Chair of Gloucester RSCM, Visiting Organ Teacher at Westonbirt School and has a busy international concert career.



Christopher Too
Organ Scholar (2018-19)

Chris is Organ Scholar at Gloucester during his gap year. He plays for the Cathedral Choir once a week and in the absence of either Adrian or Jonathan, and also accompanies the new Youth Choir and the Junior Choir. Chris assists the Singing Development Leader, Nia Llewelyn Jones, in the Cathedral’s programme of outreach in local primary schools, and is also accompanist to the Wycliffe Choral Society. After this year he hopes to take up an Organ Scholarship at Oxford or Cambridge.


Gloucester Cathedral Organists/Directors of Music since 1582

1582 Robert Lichfield
1620 Elias Smith
1620 Philip Hosier
1638 Berkeley Wrench
1640 John Okeover
1662 Robert Webb
1665 Thomas Lowe
1666 Daniel Henstridge
1673 Charles Wren

1679 Daniel Roseingrave
1682 Stephen Jeffries
1710 William Hine
1730 Barnabas Gunn
1743 Martin Smith
1782 William Mutlow
1832 John Amott
1865 Samuel Sebastian Wesley
1876 Charles Harford Lloyd

1882 Charles Lee Williams
1897 A. Herbert Brewer
1928 Herbert Sumsion
1967 John Sanders
1994 David Briggs
2002 Andrew Nethsingha
2007 Adrian Partington

Assistant Organists/Assistant Directors of Music since 1948

1948 Donald Frederick Hunt
1954 Wallace Michael Ross
1958 John Sanders
1963 Richard Latham
1975 John Francis Clough

1975 Andrew Millington
1983 Mark Blatchly
1990 Mark Lee
1998 Ian Ball
2002 Robert Houssart

2008 Ashley Grote
2012 Anthony Gowing
2014 Jonathan Hope

Printer Printable Version

Visit England logo Green-Tourism logo logo trip advisor link Arocha Eco Church logo